Collapse and Select Groups

Expand / Collapse Group

Expands or collapses a group (Win+Mac: Shift+X).
You can have a layer within the group or the group header itself selected to expand/collapse the group. The expanded/collapsed state of sub-groups will be remembered when a higher group will be collapsed and then expanded again.

Expanding / Collapsing all Groups

If you have no layer selected and you execute Expand / Collapse Group, all groups at the upper level (no sub-groups) will collapse. If you hit Expand / Collapse Group again, all groups at the upper level will expand.

Refreshing Layout when Expanding / Collapsing Groups

Most functions of Workflower refresh the layout of the current comp too (see Refresh Layout). When expanding/collapsing groups, however, only the layout of comps with less than 50 layers will be refreshed by default. This is because expanding/collapsing can get comparatively slow in bigger comps if Refresh Layout would have to be executed as well.
You can deactivate this behavior, too, if you don't like it, or choose to not refresh the layout even in smaller comps as well, by going to the Layout Settings and changing Refresh Layout when Expanding/Collapsing/Selecting/Renaming.

Select Group

Selects a group (Win+Mac: Shift+D).
Because of the additional shy'd layers needed for a group (see Create Group for an explanation), you cannot simply select all (visible) group layers in order to move a group. That's why you always have to use the Select Group function.

Selection Condition

Compared to most other group functions, Select Group won't work when only having a group layer selected. You need to have the group header selected to use Select Group. (This is because when you are within a group, you might want to select a handful of layers - of which some might be a sub-group header and some not. If only a group would be needed to select the entire group, the higher group would then be selected instead of the sub-groups.)

Selection Icon

An Icon [ ] will be shown next to the group header name for a brief time to indicate that the group is selected. This will, however, slow down selecting the group by a little bit. If you don't want the icon to be shown, go to the Icons Settings to disable it.

Selecting all Layers

If you have no layer selected and you execute Select Group, all groups and all layers outside of groups will be selected. This is equivalent to AE's Select All, however, AE's function DOES NOT select shy'd layers, so the additional, shy'd layers for the Workflower groups to function as well as the content of collapsed groups will not be selected. So whenever you want to select all layers in your comp, use Workflower's function instead.

Refreshing Layout when Selecting Groups

Most functions of Workflower refresh the layout of the current comp too (see Refresh Layout). When selecting groups, however, only the layout of comps with less than 50 layers will be refreshed by default. This is because selecting groups can get comparatively slow in bigger comps if Refresh Layout would have to be executed as well.
You can deactivate this behavior, too, if you don't like it, or choose to not refresh the layout even in smaller comps as well, by going to the Layout Settings and changing Refresh Layout when Expanding/Collapsing/Selecting/Renaming.
Last modified 2mo ago